Mayor & Commission


City Hall
First Floor
South Miami, FL 33143




The Mayor and Commission will adhere to the City Charter, the city and county’s Code of Ethics, and will endeavor to certify the best-qualified candidates for employment that represents the philosophy of the community we serve. The Mayor and Commission are committed to provide the citizens of South Miami exceptional constituent service. It is the goal to ensure that every encounter with Mayor and Commission office reflects the dedication to the interest and well-being of the beloved city and its citizens.

Mayor and City Commission Function

The Mayor and City Commission is the five member elected legislative and governing body of the city responsible for establishing policies, managing growth and land use, adopting an annual budget and tax rate, setting storm water utility rates, and other fees and charges for city services, adopting local laws and ordinances and hiring and overseeing the City Manager, City Attorney and City Clerk.

All commission members serve for a term of four years. The mayor, who presides over commission meetings, serves two year terms. All elected officials are elected "at large" and must reside within the city to be an elected representative.

Commission-City Manager Form of Government

Name Title Email Phone Additional Phone
Fernández, Javier Mayor 305-761-2274  
Bonich, Lisa Vice Mayor 786-852-2614  
Calle, Steve Commissioner, Group I 305-915-1246  
Liebman, Josh Commissioner, Group II 305-338-8583  
Corey, Brian Commissioner, Group III 305-967-2404